Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GH-Java
    • Jul 17 2015

Clanking Transmission

Hi all. I have a 1959 that drives well and shift just fine. Well..

1) when I pull it to reverse a buzzing sound comes from under the hood that disappears when I put in Drive.

2) When I put the car in Reverse, I have to hold the breaks down REAL hard And it Still Jumps with a loud clank from middle to the back of the under carriage.

3) The transmission shifts hard with loud clanks when it shifts up or down. It happens more often than when it shifts smoothly.

I am not a mechanic. I have been thinking about flushing the transmission. Any ideas or advice? I appreciate it. G.H.
  • jopizz
    Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009

I don't think it's the transmission. It sounds more like a bad pinion gear or bearing in the rear. It could also be a universal joint. As for the buzzing I don't want to say it's normal but I've seen it on many Squarebirds I've had. I would check the trans fluid and make sure it's filled.

John
    John Pizzi - Squarebirds Administrator

Thunderbird Registry #36223
    jopizz@squarebirds.org 856-779-9695

https://www.squarebirds.org/picture_gallery/TechnicalResourceLibrary/trl.htm

Comment

• DKheld
      Super-Experienced
      • Aug 27 2008

John ....re#2....do you suppose the idle speed is way too high also causing it to jump

Eric

Comment

• Ladysmith Bob
        Experienced
        • May 21 2017

Just another thought

If someone has put in a shift kit in the past it could explain the harsh up and down shifting - also would check trans mount - could be transmitting vibration and clunking sound through floor pan.
        sigpicSawmill Guru Registry #21424

Comment

• Yadkin
          Banned
          • Aug 11 2012

Originally posted by GH-Java
          Hi all. I have a 1959 that drives well and shift just fine. Well..

1) when I pull it to reverse a buzzing sound comes from under the hood that disappears when I put in Drive.