Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • timmy
    • Feb 7 2017

Front End Clip

Hello everyone, I'm new to owning a thunderbird. I just recently purchased a '61 with some front end damage and I've looked everywhere but can't seem to find the front clip. I could probably beat it back out but it would look goofy and I don't think the lights would fit back in there properly. Has anyone seen these for sale and know where I'd be able to get a replacement? Any help you have would be greatly appreciated.
  • Joe Johnston
    Super-Experienced
    • Dec 23 2008

I'm thinking the whole front end on the 61/62 is bolt on whereas the 63 is welded. You may get lucky and find the entire unit more readily available by buying a parts car. Biggest concern is finding it reasonably close to your location. My best guess is the 61 & 62 would work easily for you, but not 63 as there are other minor differences.

Comment

• jopizz
      Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009

I'm not sure if I understand your question. Your Thunderbird is unibody, not body on frame so it has no front clip as you would find on a body on frame car. The front fender can be replaced but the inner structure is part of the unibody.

John
      John Pizzi - Squarebirds Administrator

Thunderbird Registry #36223
      jopizz@squarebirds.org 856-779-9695

https://www.squarebirds.org/picture_gallery/TechnicalResourceLibrary/trl.htm

Comment

• Yadkin
        Banned
        • Aug 11 2012

I suggest you call around to some local junkyards. Being a dry climate, Utah probably has some great ones. One or more will have a "classic" yard, and may even have a dedicated TBird area.

Comment

• jopizz
          Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009