No announcement yet.

58 tbird camshaft

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

58 tbird camshaft

Gday guys, I'm pretty new to the whole Tbird/Ford game. I'm in the process of restoring my 58 and am now looking at rebuilding the engine. Now being from Australia it's probably a little more tricky so I need to be spot on with what parts I purchase. First thing I'm stuck on is the camshaft, after looking through the web I've been unable to figure out what type I would have, ie solid or hydraulic. The car is a March 19 build with original 352 engine.
    Thanks in advance.
    Chris.
  • simplyconnected
    Administrator
    • May 26 2009

Aside from the heads, your camshaft sets the stage for the type of service an engine will deliver. To answer your question, I need to know what you are looking for.
    • How long do you plan on keeping this car?
    • Is this car a daily driver?
    • Are you looking for high performance?
    • Are you looking for longevity?
    • Do you care about how the exhaust 'speaks'?
    • Long trips, cruises or garage/trailer queen?
    • Do you want to keep the car pure stock, upgrade some features or retrofit so your family is safe among modern cars on fast highways?

Now let's talk about you...
    • Do you wrench, or pay a mechanic?
    • Do you belong to a car club?
    • Stereo or mono?

Owning a classic car can be a money pit. Squarebirds were designed and built to standards that are fifty years old. Everything has changed including:
    • Fuel
    • tires
    • seat belts
    • disk brakes
    • Motor oil formulation, and a host of optional accessories that didn't exist back then like electric radiator fans, 100-amp alternators, etc.